公告

公告

 

有关香港新界白石角香港科学园第三期15W大楼7楼701至703室及705至713室( 「该处所」)之声明

 

香港科技园公司(科技园公司)作为该处所之业主,作出以下声明:

 

(1)根据科技园公司与百奥生物科技有限公司(前称中国干细胞临床应用中心有限公司,下称「百奥生物科技」)于2015年7月24日所签订的租约(「租约」),科技园公司将该处所出租予百奥生物科技合约期为6年,至2021年6月30日(「到期日」)届满,当中列明百奥生物科技没有续期权,并有责任在租约届满时按照租约的相关条款向科技园公司交回该处所在空置情况下的管有权。

(2)在不损害科技园公司于2020年11月20日于高等法院向百奥生物科技就收回该处所管有权而提出案件的原则下(案件基于租约已被科技园公司因欠缴租金及其他费用而没收租赁权) (案件编号2020年第1961号,此案件为租约期内第四次作出类似的法律诉讼),租约无论如何均会在2021年6月30日届满。自2020年10月起,科技园公司曾多次向百奥生物科技清晰表明不会与对方延续或签订新租约,而百奥生物科技有责任在租约届满时按照租约相关条款向科技园公司交回该处所在空置情况下的管有权。

(3)然而,科技园公司遗憾地注意到百奥生物科技根本未能在到期日交回该处所,并以各种原因在违反租约的情况下继续留在该处所。

(4)在到期日后,科技园公司曾在出于善意、尊重和酌情决定下向百奥生物科技提供宽限期,容许百奥生物科技就特定的原因(安排将其所需财产从该处所移除)继续使用该处所,而百奥生物科技应在任何时间对该等财产全权负责,尽管百奥生物科技有责任于到期日前作出向科技园公司交回该处所在空置情况下的管有权安排,科技园公司获悉该等财产包括以冷冻形式保存在该处所的人体样本及干细胞。事实上,科技园公司从到期日以来(包括本声明公告的日期)一直容许百奥生物科技在该有限和特定的原因下进入该处所。

(5)尽管如此,科技园公司强调从未与百奥生物科技就任何该处所的新租约达成任何具有法律约束力及可强制执行的的协议,并断然否认任何与此相违的暗示或谣言。截至本声明公告的日期,科技园公司仍然享有合法权利从百奥生物科技收回该处所在空置情况下的管有权。

(6)若有任何第三方在该处所留有或保存任何财产,应徵求独立法律意见以保障自身权益。科技园公司在任何情况下不应亦不会因科技园公司合法地进行任何行动的过程中而导致的任何损失及损坏承担任何责任,包括但不限于就收回该处所在空置情况下的管有权所採取法律行动。

(7)本声明所载的事项或其内容(或任何其他部分)均不应被视作或诠释为科技园公司放弃与百奥生物科技或任何第三方相关的任何权利。

(8)在需要的情况下,科技园公司将保留所有与百奥生物科技及相关处所,以及与任何第三方相关的权利及利益。

(9)任何由第三方採取的行动均不应在任何方面损害或不利地影响科技园公司就该处所的权利及利益。

2021年9月29日

香港科技园公司

 

 

(中文译本谨供参考,一切以英文版本为准。)

联系我们

Public Notice

PUBLIC NOTICE

 

Re   :   Units 701 to 703 and 705 to 713, 7th Floor, Building 15W,

Phase Three, Hong Kong Science Park, Pak Shek Kok,

New Territories, Hong Kong (“the Premises”)

 

We, Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation (“HKSTP”), the owner of the Premises, state and announce as follows:-

(1) By a written Lease dated 24 July 2015 (“Lease”), HKSTP let the Premises to BioCell Technology Limited (formerly known as China Stem Cell Clinical Applications Centre Limited) (“Biocell”) for a term of 6 years expiring on 30 June 2021 (“Expiry Date”), under which Biocell has no option to renew and was obliged to yield up the Premises with vacant possession to HKSTP upon the expiry of the lease term in accordance with the terms of the Lease.

(2) Without prejudice to HKSTP’s claims against Biocell in High Court Action No. 1961 of 2020 commenced on 20 November 2020 for (among others) possession of the Premises on the ground that the Lease had been forfeited by HKSTP for non-payment of rents and/or various charges (which was the 4th legal action of a similar nature during the term of the Lease), the Lease would in any event have expired and come to an end on 30 June 2021. Since around October 2020, HKSTP has repeatedly made clear to Biocell that HKSTP would not renew or enter into any new tenancy with Biocell, and that Biocell was obliged to yield up the Premises with vacant possession to HKSTP at the expiry of the lease term in accordance with the terms of the Lease.

(3) Yet, HKSTP noted with regret that Biocell has failed to yield up the Premises whether on the Expiry Date or at all, and has come up with various excuses to remain at the Premises in breach of the Lease thereafter.

(4) After the Expiry Date, HKSTP has out of goodwill, respect and discretion offered some grace period to Biocell to use the Premises but solely for the limited and specific purpose of making arrangements for Biocell to remove what it needs to remove from the Premises, which remains at all times the sole responsibility of Biocell, and which HKSTP was given to understand to include cryopreserved human samples and stem cells which had hitherto been stored by Biocell in the Premises, notwithstanding that Biocell ought to have made such arrangements reasonably well before the Expiry Date so as to yield up vacant possession of the Premises to HKSTP at the expiry of the lease term in accordance with the terms of the Lease. In fact, Biocell has since the Expiry Date been allowed regulated access to the Premises during such grace period for such limited and specific purpose even up to the date hereof. 

(5) That said, HKSTP emphasizes that it has never reached any legally binding and enforceable agreement with Biocell for any new tenancy in respect of the Premises at all, and any suggestion or rumour to the contrary is categorically denied. As at the date hereof, HKSTP remains legally entitled to evict Biocell as of right and recover vacant possession of the Premises from Biocell. 

(6) In the event that any third party has any property(ies) kept or remained in the Premises, he should obtain independent legal advice to protect his own interests. Under no circumstances shall HKSTP be responsible or liable for any loss and/or damages howsoever caused to those properties in the course of taking any actions which HKSTP is legitimately entitled to take under the laws to safeguard its lawful and rightful interests as the owner of the Premises, including but not limited to legal actions to recover vacant possession of the Premises or otherwise.

(7) Neither the issue of this notice nor its contents (or any part thereof) should be regarded or construed as a waiver of any of HKSTP’s rights in relation to Biocell or any third party.

(8) Insofar as may be necessary, HKSTP reserves all its rights and interests in relation to Biocell and the Premises, as well as in relation to any third-party.

(9) No actions to be taken by any third-party should in any way prejudice or adversely affect the rights and interests of HKSTP in respect of the Premises.

Dated this 29th day of September 2021.

Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation

 

Contact Us